Irish Scones

Living in Ireland for six months you best believe I spent a lot of time eating scones. Just about every week my roommate, Laura, made another fresh batch of dark chocolate chip scones. They usually never lasted far into the next day. She would use Odlum’s white scone mix. These scones come out amazing every time. If you are willing to pay the shipping I recommend trying some. Or you can make the similar variation I have below 🙂

Of course, back in the US I have been craving scones on and off. I loved getting done my runs and eating a bit of one, finishing up a paper and eating a bit more, getting up  in the morning and eating one or two… Its easy to see why I came back to the states with a few extra pounds! Of course I dropped the weight when I got back thanks to my break from baking, but I do still like to treat myself by testing out a different scone recipe to see if they come anywhere near the ones we used to make.

Below is a recipe I made for a dinner that I was going to. I think they actually came out really nice. Although not the same as Odlum’s, they did turn out pretty darn close!

Irish Scone

Ingredients

  • 2 cups unbleached flour
  • 1 tbs baking soda
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4 tbs butter, cold and in small cubes
  • 1/2 cup butter milk (or whole milk)
  • 1 tbs butter, softened

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a cookie sheet.
  2. Mix together flour, baking soda, sugar and salt.
  3. Using two knives cut in butter until it is blended into the flour.
  4. Stir in the milk. If you need to add more milk add it one tablespoon at a time.
  5. Place the dough on a floured surface and roll it out with a rolling pin until it is about one inch thick.
  6. Using a round cookie cutter, or a cup, cut out the scones and place them on the greased cookie sheet.
  7. Using the softened butter, coat the tops of the scones.
  8. Bake for 10-12 min until they are lightly brown on top.
  9. Enjoy 🙂

Variations

There are many things you can mix into the scones.

  • Chocolate
  • Dried cranberries
  • Mixed herbs
  • lemon zest
Plain Scones before coated with butter

Plain Scones before coated with butter

Cranberry Scones

Cranberry Scones

Enjoy with butter, jams, or just plain :)

Enjoy with butter, jams, or just plain 🙂

2 thoughts on “Irish Scones

  1. …where was this recipe last week?! these look delicious!

  2. I actually made them on the Tuesday after I left your house. And thanks! I really like how they turned out!

Let me know what you thought :)